WISSENSCHAFTLICHER
BEIRAT

IamGSD freut sich sehr über die Bestellung eines 
Wissenschaftlichen Beirats (SAB) unter Vorsitz des Vorstandmitglieds Dr. Jared Schreiner. Der SAB gibt auf Anfrage Empfehlungen zu Informationen, die wir Patienten und Fachleuten zur Verfügung stellen, beantwortet spezifische medizinische Fragen und berät hinsichtlich der Auswahl zur Unterstützung vorgeschlagener Forschungsprojekte.
jared.jpg
Dr. Jared Schreiner

Vorsitzender des wissenschaftlichen Beirats

Jared ist Mitglied des IamGSD-Vorstands und Vorsitzender unseres Wissenschaftlichen Beirats. Bitte beachte seine biographischen Details auf unserer Seite für den IamGSD-Vorstand.

Prof. Ros Quinlivan

Beraterin für neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen

Ros Quinlivan erhielt einen BSc in Psychologie, bevor sie an der UCL Medizin studierte. Ihre postgraduale Ausbildung absolvierte sie in Pädiatrie an Lehrkrankenhäusern in London.

 

Sie war die erste klinische Forschungsstipendiatin für neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen am Guy's Hospital, die sich mit pädiatrischen und erwachsenen Fachgebieten befasste. Sie erhielt einen MD von der University of London für ihre Forschungen zur Kardiomyopathie der Duchenne- und Becker-Muskeldystrophie.

 

Sie wurde 1995 zur Beraterin in den West Midlands ernannt, wo sie Direktorin des Wolfson Center for Inherited Neuromuscular Disease war.

 

Sie wechselte 2010 zur UCLH, wo sie als klinische Leiterin für den national beauftragten Dienst für McArdle-Krankheit und verwandte Erkrankungen verantwortlich ist.

Ros Quinlivan ist außerdem Mitherausgeber der Cochrane Neuromuscular Disease Group.

bhai-salman.jpg
Dr. Salman Bhai

Berater für neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen

Salman Bhai ist Assistenzprofessor in der Abteilung für Neurologie am UT Southwestern Medical Center und Direktor des Neuromuscular Center am Institute of Exercise and Environmental Medicine am Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas. Er ist spezialisiert auf neuromuskuläre Erkrankungen, insbesondere Muskelerkrankungen.

Dr. Bhai erwarb seinen medizinischen Abschluss an der Harvard University. Er absolvierte eine Facharztausbildung in Neurologie am Brigham and Women's Hospital und Massachusetts General Hospital, wo er auch eine Weiterbildung durch ein Stipendium in neuromuskulärer Medizin erhielt und ein medizinisches Ausbildungszertifikat erwarb.

Zu den klinischen Interessen von Dr. Bhai gehören die Bewertung, Diagnose und Behandlung von neuromuskulären Erkrankungen. Sein Fokus liegt auf Patienten mit entzündlichen und metabolischen Myopathien sowie Patienten mit Immun-Checkpoint-Inhibitor-Komplikationen.

Das Ziel seiner Forschung ist es, Patienten mit Myositis durch übungs- und muskelphysiologische Studien sowie durch klinische Studien besser zu verstehen, zu diagnostizieren und zu behandeln.

richard-godfrey.jpg
Dr. Richard Godfrey

Sportphysiologe

Richard Godfrey ist Dozent für Sportcoaching und Human Performance an der Brunel University. Seine Doktorarbeit befasste sich mit der Reaktion auf Wachstumshormone und ihrer Assoziation mit Laktat, was ihn mit der McArdle-Krankheit bekannt machte.

 

Seine Interessen sind sportliche Leistung und gesundheitsbezogene Aspekte der Bewegung. Er hat veröffentlicht über: Wärme; Flüssigkeitszufuhr; Jetlag; Knochen Gesundheit; Physiologie von Rudern, Höhe, Bewegungstraining und Triathlon; Entzug; Schlaf und Immunfunktion.

Richard trat nach 12 Jahren am British Olympic Medical Center, wo er Chefphysiologe war, dem Brunel College für Gesundheits- und Biowissenschaften bei.

Sein Engagement für McArdle Disease nahm 2011 zu, als er in die zweiwöchentlichen McArdle-Kliniken des MRC Center for Neuromuscular Disease eintrat. Er überwacht Übungsbeurteilungen, führt Studien durch und leitet das Forschungsprogramm.

Richard wurde im September 2010 zum Fellow der British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences (BASES) ernannt.

SCIENTIFIC
ADVISORY BOARD

IamGSD is very pleased to have appointed a Scientific Advisory Board (S.A.B.) under the chairmanship of main board member Dr. Jared Schreiner. The S.A.B. offers advice upon request in regard to the information we provide for patients and professionals, answers specific questions about the conditions we cover, and consults on our support for proposed research.  
Dr. Jared Schreiner

Chairman, Scientific Advisory Board

Jared is a member of the IamGSD board and also Chairs our Scientific Advisory Board. Please see his biographic details on our page for the IamGSD board.

Prof. Ros Quinlivan

Consultant in Neuromuscular Disease

Ros Quinlivan obtained a BSc in psychology before going on to study medicine at UCL. Her post-graduate training was in paediatrics at London teaching hospitals.

 

She was the first clinical research fellow in neuromuscular disease at Guy's Hospital, working across paediatric and adult specialties. She was awarded an MD by the University of London for her research into the cardiomyopathy of Duchenne and Becker Muscular Dystrophy.

 

She was appointed a consultant in 1995 in the West Midlands, where she was Director of the Wolfson Centre for Inherited Neuromuscular Disease.

 

She moved to UCLH in 2010, where she is clinical lead for the nationally commissioned service for McArdle disease and related disorders. 

 

Ros Quinlivan is also joint co-ordinating editor for the Cochrane Neuromuscular Disease Group.

Dr. Salman Bhai

Consultant in Neuromuscular Disorders

Salman Bhai is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center and the Director of the Neuromuscular Center in the Institute of Exercise and Environmental Medicine at Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas. He specializes in neuromuscular disorders, particularly muscle disorders.

Dr. Bhai earned his medical degree at Harvard University. He completed a residency in neurology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital, where he also received advanced training through a fellowship in neuromuscular medicine and earned a medical education certificate.

Dr. Bhai’s clinical interests include the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of neuromuscular disorders. He focuses on patients with inflammatory and metabolic myopathies as well as those with immune checkpoint inhibitor complications.

The goal of his research is to better understand, diagnose, and treat patients with myositis through exercise and muscle physiology studies as well as through clinical trials.

Dr. Richard Godfrey

Exercise Physiologist

Richard Godfrey is a Senior Lecturer in Sports Coaching and Human Performance at Brunel University. His PhD was on growth hormone response and its association with lactate, which introduced him to McArdle Disease.

 

His interests are sports performance and health-related aspects of exercise. He has published on: heat; hydration; jet lag; bone health; physiology of rowing, altitude, exercise training and triathlon; detraining; sleep and immune function.

Richard joined Brunel’s College of Health and Life Sciences after 12 years at the British Olympic Medical Centre where he was Chief Physiologist.

His involvement with McArdle Disease grew in 2011 when he joined the bi-weekly McArdle clinics at the MRC Centre for Neuromuscular Disease. He supervises exercise assessments, undertakes studies and is the lead on the research programme. 

Richard was made a Fellow of the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences (BASES) in September 2010.